Back to Listings

Lucy Powell appointed chair of parliamentary group for nursery schools

Former shadow education secretary Lucy Powell has taken on the role of chair at the All Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on Nursery Schools and Nursery Classes.
The group was established in February 2016 by Graham Stuart MP (chair), Baroness Tess Blackstone, (vice chair), Mark Pritchard MP (treasurer) and Tom Pursglove MP (secretary). 
Labour MP, Lucy is an advocate for better childcare and the protection of public services, and her appointment follows Graham Stuart’s promotion as a government whip.
At her first meeting as chair, Lucy said that nursery schools are critical engines of social mobility, narrowing the gap the most for disadvantaged children and their peers.
“Yet nursery schools could become extinct due to proposed funding changes by education ministers,” she said.
“Ministers are levelling down the funding system for the early years to pay for their 30-hours childcare offer which threatens the future viability of these exceptional institutions doing so much to defeat disadvantage and improve social mobility.”